It was a fine weekend when I was teaching  Mom how to use Whatsapp. Relatively new, she was enjoying the fun things of DP, status, groups and more ! And that is when our maid came for regular services, but she also brought her daughter today since nobody was at her home.

Neha, a 10 year old sweet little kid, with curly hair and rolling eyes seemed all shy when visiting us for the first time. To make her comfortable, Mom gave the mobile to her to play.
Now usually kids of this age are well equipped with all smartphone features and they handle it like a pro, but not Neha. She looked at it like an alien thing and in the fear of wrecking it, left it and hid her behind her mother.

Curious me, asked my maid if she knows how to use smartphones. My maid got a little upset and told that since Neha studies in government school, and “Waha Kaha English sikhate hai” (Ofcourse no English is taught there).

I had another look at Neha. She had zeal in her eyes. Hiding behind her mother she was still looking at the phone from a distance. It was depressing that it this age and technology kids are not learning English which is so much needed for future development. I further learned that Neha is a brilliant kid and is very smart in other activities like art & craft. It seemed a crime to let this happen.

I immediately went close to her and gave her the smartphone and asked if she wants to learn more. She nodded with curiosity.  I explained basic features of smartphone, and also taught her how to use camera, even took a selfie with her !

But to ensure that learning continues, I informed our maid about the Nihar Shanti Amla’s Pathshala Funwala’s toll free number 8055667788. You call the number and it starts with a lovely Jingle ! It looks to be a fun and beautiful way to learn English. I gave Neha my phone and headphones and she enjoyed listening and learning. She giggled most of the times and it was a delightful sight!

I saved the Nihar Shanti Amla’s Pathshala Funwala’s toll free number 8055667788 in my maid’s phone and asked her to set a timetable for Neha to learn English. She was happy because Neha looked to be enjoying this fun way of learning and it came at no cost at all !

Lets together educate all such kids we come across and save the Nihar Shanti Amla’s Pathshala Funwala’s toll free number 8055667788 on their parents  phone and inform them of this great initiative so that no kid/young/adult is left out and we help making our society & our nation a developed one !

I am blogging about Pathshala Funwala by Nihar Shanti Amla Oil in association with BlogAdda

nihar-shanti-amla-pathsala-blogadda

